Baker Prize 2012 awards ceremony.

Wow.

Seriously – WOW.

On behalf of the Reading Room Committee, I must say a few words of thanks to everyone who made last night such a remarkable occasion. To everyone who came and listened to the readings and shared in the evening; to the judges who all gave their time in both the selection process and to support us at the event itself; to the hotel staff for looking after us so well; to our sponsors for their support; to the committee members who give their time each and every day to help keep the reading room ticking along; to my wife, Max who helped organise the results of the competition in a way that I could never have done on my own (and who, in the excitement of the evening, I forgot to thanks – sorry); to every single one of you who sat down and wrote an entry for the competition; and to the winners who travelled somewhere in the region of 12500 miles round trip to be at the event. Without their huge effort, the evening wouldn’t have been so special.

I have, in the past 10 years, published and launched 2 novels of my own and yet I can honestly say that last night was almost certainly the most memorable literary event that I have ever attended.

Once again, on behalf of the committee – thank you.

Richard.

2 thoughts on “Baker Prize 2012 awards ceremony.

  1. Hello Everyone.

    I have arrived home on Scoraig and am now sitting down to a welcome cup of tea!
    Last night was a very memorable, enjoyable occasion. I would like to thank everyone from the Reading Room, the Skeabost Hotel and Cuillin radio. Special thanks to Richard for keeping me informed and for being so welcoming.
    Securing the Highly Commended spot in the competition means a lot to me and has given me great encouragement to continue with my writing. My certificate already has pride of place on my bookcase here at the Dome!
    With very best wishes to all.

    Alison Barr

    • Glad you got home safely Alison, it was a pleasure to get to know you and to hear your work. Very much enjoyed your reading. You will be able to hear your interview on CuillinFM in a fortnight’s time and we’ll be sending you a CD in the post sometime next week. So pleased you feel encouraged and hope we’ll have an entry from you next year. Congratulations on your success once again and with all good wishes from us at the Skye Reading Room.

Comments are closed.