Not enough words.

Last Thursday at the Reading Room, I stood up and said a few words in thanks to Charlotte for her work as Chair over the last 3 years. I didn’t say enough for a number of reasons.

Firstly, as often is the case, the evening was charged with emotion and, being an old softie at heart, I struggled to get the words out without becoming a wet blubbery mess (especially with Charlotte struggling to keep it together at the same time).

Also, Charlotte herself didn’t want a fuss.

At the previous event, Charlotte praised my vision in getting the Reading Room off the ground and to where it is now and yes, it did take vision but even that wasn’t just me but a huge portion was Orla. Vision is one thing, but without the passion, hard work and unceasing effort Charlotte put into her role as Chair, the Reading Room wouldn’t have lasted past the first twelve months. That’s an absolute fact.

I’m really looking forward to continuing my work with the committee and under our new chair, Linda. But Charlotte, star that she is, will be truly missed.

Richard.

