It’s been a blast.

A little over 3 years ago, the Skye Reading Room (then, the Skye Literary Salon) groaned, stretched its literary wings and, with a big sigh, took its first flight. Back then, neither Orla or I had any pre-conceived ideas about what would become of the disjointed and often incoherent jumble of thoughts and ideas that made up our quirky little literary organisation. I think it’s safe to say though, that 3 years down the line the unsteady wings of the Reading Room are now letting it soar.
Last night saw Cynthia Rogerson promoting Moniack Mhor and reading a wonderfully evocative short story and Heather Marshall launching her truly splendid novel, ‘The Thorn Tree’. It was a quiet, ‘select’ evening that gave me the opportunity to launch the fourth Baker Prize and for Linda to announce the fact that I was stepping down as vice chair.
I’d like to say thanks to everyone who supports the Reading Room; everyone that turns up in the pouring rain and wind in November; everyone who’s ever bought a second-hand book or two from us; everyone who’s submitted an entry to the Baker Prize, who’s won a prize, who’s made it into the anthology, who’s bought the anthology, who’s judged a category and anyone who’s supported the visiting authors, both local and international.
The list is lengthy and, as I left the committee last night I shouldn’t really have access to this part of the website any more, so I’ll say thanks once more and ‘see you at the next event’.
It really has been a blast you know…
Richard Neath.

2 thoughts on “It’s been a blast.

  1. Richard, it’s you who needs the BIGGEST Thank You – you have worked tirelessly to promote and develop the Reading Room, even when you’ve been inundated with work from your proper job (i.e.paid work) and more recently when you’ve taken on the massive project of building your house. I consider myself very lucky to have worked with you over the past 3+ years and am very glad that the experience of working with me hasn’t put you off becoming a good friend 🙂 I know you will be missed from the committee but you continue to show your commitment to the RR – sponsoring the English Prose Section of the Baker Prize – you’re an absolute star.
    Thank you for everything
    Charlotte

  2. What more can I say except that I am so looking forward to working with Richard on volume 2 of the RR Anthology – perhaps when he has a warm house to work in and space to spread out the paperwork! Cheers, mate.
    Linda

Comments are closed.